A little Windy

It was a really windy couple of days here. Gusts up to 45mph, which to be honest, felt sustained rather than gusts.

I decided, as the wind had died down a little the next day, I’d head out for a quick ride. I wanted to get out the house, and check out the new new features on the Garmin 510, that have been released with Firmware 3.40. Namely the Segment support.

On the cycle path toward Ripley, I was having to avoid some rather large sticks, and parts of tree that threatened to enter the spokes and throw me if I went anywhere near. The I rounded the corner and saw the casualty of the wind.

A rather large conifer had fallen right over the path, blocking it all. the only way round was to pick the bike up and walk round it cyclocross style.

At times I was having to lean at quite an angle to deal with the wind. It was pretty much a headwind all the way to Ripley, and quite a struggle to keep a half decent pace going.

On the way back, the effect of the wind was dramatic, as it was pretty much a tailwind for parts, effort was’nt really needed to move forward at  a pace that saw me get some good times according to the new feature on my Garmin.

My best previous time was set on the 23rd of December at a time of 10:41. Today it was some 23 seconds quicker, at 10:18. Even having to get off the bike, and carry it round the downed tree I was so much quicker, mostly due to the tailwind I had.

Heading back up Bilton Lane however, was a whole different story. The wind only ever comes one way, and thats down. With a side wind when you pass a gap in the houses. It was impossible to keep any speed up, or a central line as I passed the houses. It was virtually impossible. It was pretty much my worst time ever on the Lane. The wind was just vicious. It was at this time, I decided enough was enough and gave up, and headed home.

But on the bright side, the new features on the 510 worked very well, and the segment support is excellent.

Leave a Reply

